How To Cancel An OkCupid Subscription? [in 2022]

OkCupid is a popular dating site and app that allows users to connect with others who share similar interests. However, if you no longer want to be a part of the site, canceling your subscription can seem daunting. Thankfully, it’s not as difficult as it may seem. Here are the steps you need to take to cancel your OkCupid subscription.

How To cancel an OkCupid subscription?

Here is how to cancel an OkCupid subscription:

  1. Open your account on okcupid.com
  2. On the settings page you can see a list of your subscriptions
  3. Here you can see a “Turn off automatic billing” link.
  4. Clicking this link will prevent you from being billed again in the future, but you’ll keep the rest of the time on your subscription that you have already paid for.

If you subscribed to an OkCupid subscription in the mobile app:

There is no “downgrade” option on Google Play or iTunes thus you cannot cancel through our website. Follow the instructions below to terminate your Google Play or iTunes membership.

In the case of iTunes or the iPhone app:

  • Go to Settings > [your name] ; iTunes & App Store.
  • Login using your Apple ID at the top.
  • View your Apple ID. If necessary, you may need to confirm your Apple ID.
  • Subscribe using the drop-down menu.
  • Tap a subscription to change it.
  • On your subscription page, click Cancel Subscription. Cancellation will be effective at the end of the current billing cycle.

Credit card or PayPal payments must be canceled through our website, not iTunes or Google Play. You will get the following notice if you paid by credit card:

Account renewals and removals reminder:

If you paid by PayPal or credit card, disabling your account does not cancel your membership or auto-renewal. To remove your account, first, cancel your membership’s auto-renewal. The current subscription month will not be charged again if you cancel your membership/auto-renewal.

Your membership will be paid even if you deactivate, reactivate, or delete your OkCupid account because those services are unaware of your actions. Delete your OkCupid account to avoid costs from iTunes or Google Play.

How To cancel an OkCupid subscription on an iPhone or Android?

We have a mobile app for both iOS and Android that allows you to manage your subscriptions. Here are the steps you will take to disable auto-renew:

You may want to disable auto-renew before deleting your account. Click “Manage Subscriptions” in the settings menu on Android and iOS.

Toggle plastic card subscription under “Your Subscriptions”. The plastic card is a sign if you have subscribed through iTunes or Google Play with a paid monthly membership. If no plastic card subscription exists, click “Show All.”

Next, select the type of subscription you would like to cancel: Paid Monthly Membership or Trial Membership (which will cancel immediately when you click delete).

Can’t cancel an OkCupid subscription

You can’t cancel your OkCupid membership because the site has chosen not to accept the cancellation.

The site offers a couple of alternatives, depending on the type of membership. It’s possible to stop renewing your subscription, for instance: by turning off automatic renewal in OkCupid’s settings; or by deleting your account altogether.

But keep in mind that if you do that, you’ll have to renew it manually once it’s over.

The second option is to buy a monthly membership and disable auto-renewal on the app: just click “cancel” when prompted and confirm with OKCIPD that you want to delete your account.

Other information related to canceling an OkCupid subscription

After you cancel your subscription, you can keep using OkCupid until your current subscription period ends, but you will no longer be able to use the site or app with the same features until it expires.

Also, after the subscription period of payment has ended, your profile and messages will be deleted from the site.

When a paid member deletes their account or stops auto-renewal through iTunes or Google Play, all photos and videos must be deleted. If not all photos have been removed, they will remain on the server until they expire. Members are responsible for exporting their OkCupid profile in order to save it and keep it private if they choose to delete their account.

Now that you have an idea on how to cancel subscriptions on OkCupid, make sure to subscribe only when you feel like you needed to, or you can try the OkCupid free trial option first before you decide!